Makeup Favourites 2016

Hello!

Today I was admiring my collection of makeup, and I was like gosh, I can’t wait to share my favourites. I got so excited! So here are a few of my favourites that have been used up and are absolutely wonderful! If you have any other makeup recommendations please let me know!

IMG_4070

So let’s start off with the face products:

IMG_4085.jpg

These are my three favourite things right now. I don’t use them together, I tend to mix it up a bit. I don’t use any of these on my Clarisonic. The Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, does absolute wonders. It is so easy to use and I added it immediately to my makeup removal regime. My makeup is removed so quickly and easily and my face is left refreshed! Read the website for more information, and if you can pick one up in a store!

Next up is the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash. This smells amaaaazing. If it was edible, I would probably give it a go. (but don’t…) This is perfect for those days when I’m breaking out a little more than usual and this face wash will clear redness by the morning.

The Clarisonic Mia 2 in pink, is both cute and helpful. For any of you that do not know, the Clarisonic Mia 2 is a face washing machine, where you pump a little face wash on the bristles and you start the machine. It will pulse when the time is up and you need to change your location. It gives you 20 seconds to do your forehead, it will then pulse to tell you to move on to your chin area for another 20 seconds. Then it will pulse again to move to your left/right cheek and clean there for 10 seconds, and then finally you will do the last cheek. It’s as easy as that. Then all you have to do is wash your face with water and add a toner on top so that your face doesn’t get dry. It’s so simple to use and your makeup is cleaned off immediately. If you want, there is an option to change the brush head to an acne-helping one (it’s the green one), I don’t use this one too much but I know that it works well and makes sure that my pores are clean. The Clarisonic is wonderful in the sense that it’s quick and straight forward to use. It was definitely worth the plurge. That being said, these things aren’t very cheap, but something that I would definitely recommend if you’re looking for something easy to use, as you are guaranteed not to mix your finger germs on your beautiful face!

IMG_4095

At the end of washing my face I put on the Simple Vital Vitamin Night Cream. I’m not the biggest fan of the smell, I can’t really describe it… But the texture of this is amazing and every morning my face feels soft an like a baby’s bum ๐Ÿ˜‰

Fragrances

FotorCreated.png

These two. Holy poop. They both smell absolutely amazing, and I’ve just recently had to buy a new Rituals body mist!

IMG_4110.jpg The Chakra Water Body Mist by Rituals is part of the delicious line of soaps and scrubs. It’s the perfect blend between flowers that it isn’t too powerful and you can easily wear it as a body mist. Now, they say you can use this as a bed mist before, but I’m not sure if I would want to try that because I prefer the smell of our washing detergent when I sleep! But definitely worth a look if you ever happen to go to a Rituals!

 

 

 

IMG_4103.jpg
This is my go-to perfume. Daisy by Marc Jacobs. I love the entire daisy collection, but this particular one makes me feel fierce and boss and sophisticated. Interesting to how one perfume can hold so much character! My friends always know I’m wearing this perfume, because it really does last a long time!

 

Makeup

IMG_4118.jpg

This is the cut-down go-to collection. They’re all basics, and include some light pinks for an everyday look.

So let’s start with the eyes:

Eyes

IMG_4122

This eye shadow primer potion by urban decay, is so easy to use. This one is in “original” which for me, is just a nude colour. It really sticks to its word and helps your eyeshadow stay on ALL day. Not only does it do this but it makes the eye shadow colour even more IMG_4123vibrant. It’s great.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4150

The Naked 2 Basics Palette also by Urban Decay has the most elegant but simple colours for everyday. It’s also small and compact, so easy to bring with when travelling but also if you go to work or school for when you need to touch up your eye shadow. I normally use Stark as the base and then Frisk or Cover for the crease. That’s all I do, because it’s simple for everyday and not over the top. It also lets me spend more time in bed sleeping! I use the Eco Tools shadows brush to apply my eyeshadow. It is the travel size, but it’s so easy and cute! They are not lying when they say the softest brushes.

IMG_4147

I barely wear eye liner because I have not mastered it, but I also look very stern when I do apply it… I think it’s time for me to learn. I have tried before (but not to much success)… Nonetheless, the Master Precise by Maybelline is like a pen and glides on very easy (if you don’t blink too much). It’s perfect for beginners because it’s so simple, and it’s easy to wash off, so you don’t really need to commit to anything!

IMG_4144If you haven’t noticed… I love Urban Decay. Their packaging is so sleek as well. But here, we have the Perversion Mascara. I stumbled on this because I was given a free sample when I bought an eye shadow palette. I normally used Benefit or Maybelline, but after I tried this one, I haven’t gone back. This mascara lasts the entire day, and gets every single eyelash. My mascara doesn’t look clumpy, it literally looks like I have nothing on. It also feels light and like I am not wearing any mascara at all. This really just exemplifies what you already have, which is great.

Face

IMG_4164

 

The Pore-Fessional by Benefit is the perfect mousse-y primer. It does its job and make sure that my face is not red before I apply foundation. I wish they were in bigger packages, but these do last a good while.IMG_4168

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4173

 

This is how it looks before you apply it. It’s soft and the perfect texture to apply over your face.

 

 

IMG_4175

In order to apply any liquid makeup I use my beauty blender. I just bought a new one from Sephora because my other one was getting old. Remember to wash them regularly with shampoo! I also have a Real Technique one, which works just as well, because it’s got several differently shaped sides for different effects and areas on your face!

IMG_4180I’m not the biggest fan of blush, but this Dandelion Dew from Benefit is easy and a liquid! For me, that makes it even more exciting to use because I can blend as much as I want and not loose the colour as much as I do with powder. It’s a nice soft pink-y nonetheless and blends perfectly with my skin tone. I love the packaging of this, it’s elegant and gorgeous!

For bronzer, I do love using the Hoola by Benefit, but I have it in the small travel size so I tend to use that one only for travelling. I love that you can get your name engraved on the brush and box, so cute! But for at home, I use the bronzer from Kiko. The pink/white centre ensures that I never have too much bronzer on my brush because I can also whiten it out a bit and not look like a cardboard box. The packaging is again beautifully elegant and the bronzer is equally as pretty and good. I can’t find the link of the one from Kiko anymore, so they may no longer be sold! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Lips

IMG_4188

I’m not a girl for bright vibrant colours. I have tons of pinks that are probably the same colour. It’s a little crazy, but out of my collection these three are my favourite.

IMG_4200

This is how the colours look on my skin. The urban decay is shiny and the maybelline one is a matte and the revlon is a darker pink.

Thank you for reading, and I hope I could help you decide whether to buy some things or consider some new products!

Caitlin

xx

10 thoughts on “Makeup Favourites 2016

    1. It really is worth it! I saved up for it as well and was so excited when I finally got my hands on it! Do make sure you talk to the people at the store to find out which clarisonic fits you best, especially with the changeable heads! The beauty blender really is amazing! Which colour did you decide to go for? They just released a nude one, it looks amazing too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll definitely do that thank you! I got the pink one! On sephoras website they had 2 blenders and the liquid cleaner for I think $40! I want to get the black one though!

        Like

Leave a Reply

